Thursday, 19 December 2013

The French Open, Roland Garros

Hi everybody!

          Tonight I will talk you about the French Open, in french "Roland Garros". 


          The first edition take place in Paris in 1891. It is only open to french tennis players.
In 1924, french championships take place on Racing  Club courts. After the tournament, the FFT (the french tennis federation) decide to build a new stadium to receive more international tennis players.
In 1925, the tournament become internationnal and by the same occasion a Grand Chelem (there are 4 Grand Chelem tournament : Roland Garros, Wimbledon in London, the US Open in New York and  the Australian Open in Sydney).

          In 1927, the four Musketeers win the Davis Cup in Philadelphie.

The four Musketeers (left to right: Jacques Brugnon, Henri Cochet, René Lacoste, Jean Borotra) in front of exit of the Racing Club
          As they won last year, the construction of a new location begin. Next year, Davis Cup is set in Paris in Roland Garros, the name of the new stadium to honor Roland Garros, a pioneer in aviation, recognized to be the first man to cross the Mediterranean sea by plane, but also a ancient good tennis player at Stade Français Club.
World Championships in 1912 at "porte de Saint-Cloud"

          In 1968, Roland Garros is the first Grand Chelem tournament to become Open. It can host all professionnal and beginner tennis players in the world.
Central Court


 There are 20 courts. The 3 most important are the Central Court (Philppe Chatrier), the Suzanne Lenglen, and the Court n°1.

Prize List

          Today, Rafael Nadal has the most victories in single. He has 8 wins (2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013) It's amazing!
In women, it is Chris Evert. She has 7 victories in 1974, 1975, 1979, 1980, 1983, 1985 and 1986.

==> single men since 1982 to 1999

==> finals single men since 1925

Pierre M...

No comments:

Post a Comment