Wednesday, 21 December 2011

The Hunger Games

“The Hunger Games” is a trilogy written by Suzanne Collins. We discover the story of Katniss Everdeen who is a sixteen-years-old-girl. These science-fiction books take place in America, perhaps in 3000, or 4000, I don’t know but it’s far in the future. A powerful government called “panem” reduces 12 districts in slavery. To show its power, it organizes a reality show: the famous “Hunger Games”. In fact, two children or teenagers in each district are chosen to fight in an area. The winner who has killed every child, the survivor, will become rich, and his district will be too. Katniss and her family live in the poor district 12. At the 74th edition of the Hunger Games it is Katniss’s sister who is chosen and Katniss will be voluntary to save her. She has to persuade panem to support her because when she will be in the area, the more rich people could send her some presents like food or treatments. Then, Katniss will pretend to be in love with the man who has been chosen with her, because the public will love us more than if she was alone. Between love and violence, we follow Katniss in her fight for the life.
I love these books because they are riveting and interesting. When I begin it, I couldn’t stop to read and I finished it in one night. The characters are strong and even if the game forces them to kill others, they respect them.
After their success, the books will be adapted to the cinema with The Hunger Games – The movie, the 21st of March 2012. I hope that the movies will be as fantastic as thebooks!
Hélène G.

No comments:

Post a Comment